There are essentially four levels of charges the government in Minnesota can allege.A petty misdemeanor is the lowest Minnesota level of offense that exists. In fact, a petty misdemeanor is not considered a crime.
A person convicted of a petty misdemeanor can only be fined up to $300.00.
A person convicted of a misdemeanor can be sentenced up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. In Minnesota, crimes like most first offense DWIs and fifth degree assaults are misdemeanor offenses. As a general rule, the penalty depends on your judge. For most misdemeanors, even if convicted, you will likely not face executed jail consequences.
A person convicted of a gross misdemeanor can be sentenced up to 1 year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine. A second- or third-time DWI and prostitution offenses are examples of gross misdemeanor offenses.
A felony is the most serious level of crime in Minnesota. A person convicted of a felony can be sentenced to over a year in prison. Some felony offenses carry mandatory minimum prison sentences.
The majority of cases handled by the Law Offices of Ryan Garry are state and federal felony level cases.